Bunny Boo-Boos: Writing a Love Story

(This is an old draft in my archives and I thought it’s fitting for Valentine’s Day)

I am in another state of panic.

I notice this happens often. It’s worrisome.

Anyway, my previous partner encouraged me to write a love story for my blog. Knowing his skillful tactics in persuasion I indulged. Nyarrrrr.

In the end I found myself here, fishing around my head for a good love story that I must have stored whilst I ogled random couples at the mall. Yes, I can be creepy at times. Sorry, random couples.

Well, you know, I’m not really an author by profession, so I can neither promise to sweep you guys with my words nor end everything with a “bang “.

So, I will not promise anything. Safe Bunny, I am. Hehe.

Anyway, while I’m fishing for a good plot, let me share with you the list of my favorite love stories.

I’ll call this, “Bembunny’s Wish-I-Wrote-This-Story List”

  • The Romantic Love

Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel García Márquez

lovecholera_436280n

I’ve read the book a couple of times, although I haven’t seen the movie. The image above is a poster for the movie which I took because I liked the tagline, “How long would you wait for love?”

Well, how long do you wait for love?

Some would say, as long as it’s worth it. Others, would not even want to be bothered by it. But, Florentino…. He would give his lifetime.

When I was reading the story, I saw the beauty of the story not through this “eternal” love. I’m not sure why, maybe I’m not as romantic as I hoped myself to be.

Don’t get me wrong, my nose would bleed with happiness if someone like Florentino would love me and wait for me that long. I’d even say, that would be a part of any sane woman’s dream.

I guess, you know, I was just more focused on the details of the story.

The characters and how they went about with their lives were more interesting for me.

Their humanness, gracefulness and vulnerability; the tragedy and beauty of being human — all carefully woven by Garcia-Marquez.

I love it.

I almost cried at the ending, too.

  • The Selfless Love

The Velveteen Rabbit

velveteen_rabbit_hr

Well, deny it or not, everyone has felt unrequited love at one point of their lives, yes? — Yes (with a shaky voice, mehehe)

It is a painful experience.

Especially if you’re a rabbit… and a toy.

I’ll share with you the part that makes me cry buckets every time I read it:

‘It doesn’t happen all at once,’ said the Skin Horse.

‘You become. It takes a long time. That’s why it doesn’t happen often to people who break easily, or have sharp edges, or who have to be carefully kept.

Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby.

But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.”

Huhuhu… Too many feels…

Pass me the Kleenex please.

  • The Enduring Love

The Vow

MV5BMjE1OTU5MjU0N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzI3OTU5Ng@@._V1_SX640_SY720_This poster is distracting me. Hahaha. Curse you Channing Tatum!

Anyway, I luuuurved the story that inspired the movie.

This is a quote from the (Kim: husband & Krickitt: wife) couple’s interview with DailyMail:

Walking away was just not an option though.

‘I had made my vows in front of my family and friends, to stay together, for good and for bad, in sickness and in health.’ Krickitt decided she had to learn to love this man again, however long it might take and however hard she might find it.

Kim was of a similar mind. ‘I had made my vows to Krickitt and there was no way I would ever have abandoned her,’ he says fondly. ‘I knew the incredible woman she was before the accident and the woman she could be again. However angry she became, and however much we argued, I knew that I had to keep trying.’

I know it’s not as well-versed as the vows in the movie, but their belief in their vows and their marriage is just as moving.

It was an enduring and heart-wrenching love story of two people who chose to honor their vows — something that we do not see so often in this world where everything seems so dispensable.

To wrench our hearts further here are the vows used in the movie:

Steph-TheVow-Quote2
Image from Google Images
Steph-TheVow-Quote1
Image from Google Images

Whew! I have exhausted my Kleenex box, so I will rest. Hahaha.

I will just continue on adding to this list from time to time.

If you have love stories to share, feel free to post below! =)

.

I can smell love in the air… It smells like chocolate,

Processed with Rookie

Bembunny

.

Didn’t like my post?

https://bembunny.wordpress.com/2013/09/26/first-harvest/

Get to know Gabriel Garcia Marquez

http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/gabriel-garcia-marquez-is-born

Get to know Kim and Krickitt Carpenter

http://www.cbn.com/700club/guests/bios/Kim_Krickitt_Carpenter_021512.aspx

Get to know Margery Williams (Author of “The Velveteen Rabbit”)

http://www.harpercollins.com/cr-106379/margery-williams

Leave a Reply

